“Docere” Means “To Teach”.

I just wrote a six-page Review-Of-Antibiotics lecture for my students. It’s a great topic; it’s hard to memorize all that crap, so people can use the review at pretty much any time in their education. It’s incredibly applicable to day-to-day practice, which students tend to prefer over theoretical topics (at least, in my experience). Plus, it ties in some basic science and some microbiology and some Quick-Tips-That-Will-Make-You-Look-Super-Smart-On-Rounds.

I feel really, really productive!

But there’s no way I’ll be able to squeeze this whole thing in at once over the course of a workday.

So maybe I’ll do the review a small chunk at a time.

That means I probably won’t need to prepare anything else formal-lecture-wise over the course of this month.

Hmmmmmm.

I get a new batch of students later this month, too. I can give them the same lectures, without having to do any more prep work.

I get a new batch of students every month, come to think of it.

And if I continue to teach, I’ll get new batches of students every month for the rest of my career.

This leads to a completely unavoidable conclusion:

Technically, I never have to put together another formal lecture again!

WOOOHOOOOO!!!!!! WOO….

…………………………..

Okay, now I feel really, really lazy.

Published in: on December 20, 2011 at 9:20 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doctorgrasshopper.wordpress.com/2011/12/20/docere-means-to-teach/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. congrats^^ (doceren means to teach in dutch two) but shouldn’t you have to write the next lecture for those students? I mean, the stuff that they need to learn next?

  2. That is what those of us who have been in the teaching game call “The Sweet Spot” — you want to teach on something? Go to the file cabinet and pull out the lesson!

  3. Tsk, tsk, tsk… *wink*


Leave a Reply

