The Thing About Being A Doctor. . .

. . . is that you often find that the random person you just met is suddenly telling you all about their most recent colonoscopy experience.

(In other news, I just got an internet connection in my apartment. So hopefully I’ll be encouraged to post more often from here on out. I’ll probably still be sticking with the short one-offs instead of the longer articles, though, for now. Those guys take like four hours each…and usually I like to spend my four-hour chunks sleeping…I’m sure you understand. ๐Ÿ˜€ )

Published in: on June 30, 2011 at 12:09 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doctorgrasshopper.wordpress.com/2011/06/30/the-thing-about-being-a-doctor/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. And you’d rather hear that kind of thing from your friends and family?

  2. Oh, dude, it’s not just doctors. I work in supplies and logistics, in a warehouse that’s quite literally a quarter mile from any patients. And when someone hears I work for a *hospital*, it doesn’t matter my degree is in education and the closest I get to a sigmoidoscope is item number OSF-V60, people feel the need to tell me about their colon health in great detail.

  3. Yep, just as fun as hearing it from a random guy at the grocery store.

  4. I didn’t see an “Email Me” button anywhere, so I’m just posting this here.

    Dear Dr. Grasshopper,

    I’ve been hearing a lot about dental implants lately, and I had to wonder: what if someone with implants was punched in the mouth? Would the implants break off like teeth? Would they be harder or easier to knock out than real teeth? Would the implants tear up the victim’s mouth in painful and unpleasant ways? And is there any valid way to work this into a plot, as opposed to sticking it in as a mere gruesome detail? Maybe someone had all his teeth knocked out to hinder dental identification, but the implants left marks….

    Anyway, I don’t know if you really want to branch out from the medical to the dental, or even if you’ll ever have time to research the question, but I thought if you’re ever short of material…..? (As far as personal satisfaction goes, I ought to just ask my orthodontist next time I see him. I just don’t know if he’d accept it as a simple academic question…)

    Anyway. Thank you for the lovely blog–I thought of you last time I heard about CPR in a movie. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. It’s not only doctors. I work in my country’s equivalent to the IRS, and it’s often that friends, family or even the dentist or bank clerk or shop attendant ask me something about how to fill in their tax return. And then, if you are a publisher, any new acquaintance is likely to tell you about what they are currently writing (or hoping to write). Less awkward than colonoscopies, but still… ๐Ÿ˜‰


Leave a Reply

