Nifty Things That Have Happened In The Past Few Days

-My little brother CREAMED the MCAT (entrance exam for med school). And I mean he sent it home crying for its mother. Way to go, Fuzz-Muffin!

-I finished my intern year. I am now a resident, and people are going to expect me to “know stuff”. Or something.

-N.K. Jemisin just won the Locus Award for Best First Novel, with The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms. I’m pleased and proud, but not a bit surprised. Rock on, N.K.!

-New York got its head out of its ass….(at least on one issue…..) ‘Bout time, New York.

Add your own to the list!

Published in: on June 26, 2011 at 6:23 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doctorgrasshopper.wordpress.com/2011/06/26/nifty-things-that-have-happened-in-the-past-few-days/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. How did you let your brother do this to himself? Shame on you, Grass!
    (kidding…)

    Elodea

  2. I’m glad to hear about N.K. Jemison. I loved her stories so far and hope to see more soon.

    My list addition would be that I’ve been contacted to paint a few murals since I did a 12×10 foot piece at my command.

  3. List addition: One of my roller derby photos is going to be used on a poster 🙂

    Not so nifty: my Taylor Spatial Frame is still on my leg and will be for at least another 2 months. Meh.

  4. I met Doug Jones (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0427964/), who played Abe Sapien in Hellboy and the Fawn/the Pale Man in Pan’s Labyrinth. One of the nicest and funniest people I’ve ever met in my life. We were at the very end of a long line of people waiting for a picture and an autograph, and he still had the grace and energy to greet us like long lost friends. Pretty nifty.


Leave a Reply

