Oscar Predictions

Few, as I haven’t had much time to see movies.

But.

I have a blog. And I have opinions.

Therefore I shall now run my mouth off about stuff I am only partially familiar with.

Predictions:

The King’s Speech will sweep the Oscars. Best Picture, Best Leading Actor, and Best Supporting Actor. If it doesn’t, then I have no idea what I’m talking about. But I already said that in not-so-many words, didn’t I? Forget it. Just watch the freaking movie. It’s excellent.

The Social Network, despite being another example of the line-by-line exemplary writing that anyone who has seen Sports Night or The West Wing or Studio 60 has come to expect of Aaron Sorkin, Totally Blew Chunks. However. Since it’s one of those movies that wants SO DESPERATELY TO WIN AN OSCAR THAT YOU CAN FEEL IT IN YOUR SOUL WHILE YOU’RE WATCHING IT (see also: Gladiator and A Beautiful Mind), it will do much better than it really should.

Inception will not do as well as it really should. But it’s nice that they let it play with the other kids in the sandbox. It’ll grow up to be everyone else’s boss.

Um….and since those are the movies I had the time to see……that’s kinda all I got.

What do you think?

Published in: on February 21, 2011 at 10:49 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doctorgrasshopper.wordpress.com/2011/02/21/oscar-predictions/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m guessing that the girl from “True Grits” going to win Best Supporting, which she a) deserves because she was absolutely amazing and b) doesn’t deserve, because she really should have been in the Best Actress category. (After all, she was the CENTRAL character in the film. >_>)

    Black Swan could be a serious contender for Best Picture and Natalie Portman for Best Actress. Seriously, one of the hardest hitting movies I’ve seen for a while.

    And stop your hating on Russell Crowe there. 😛

  2. Also, I wish I could edit that; the movie is called “True Grit,” where-as “True Grits” sounds like a really intense Southern cooking show.

  3. I didn’t even see the King’s speech, so you’re a better watcher than I am…

  4. Hahahaha! My thoughts exactly. Black Swan: will be nonexistent.


Leave a Reply

