Announcement!

I am happy to announce that I have been invited to be a host blogger for the Codex Authors’ Blog Tour 2011!

Hey, that’s great!

Um……

What the heck is that?

Well, funny you should ask!

Codex is an online writers’ group for neo-pro speculative fiction writers. It’s a group of really high-class authors, who are all at the start of their careers. Think Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, China Mieville. . . . right as they’re getting published for the first time.

These are the people who we get to talk to.

How cool is that!

Yeah, I thought you would be excited!

Okay, so here’s the deal. I’ve invited a bunch of them to guest-post interviews. And I have a couple of questions that I think it would be fun and interesting to ask.

But, you know, I’m not the one reading this blog.

So I was wondering: do you have any burning questions YOU would like to hear answered by some really awesome authors?

Be creative! Be as silly or serious as you want! I’ll give the authors a list of questions to choose from, and we’ll go from there!

The possibilities are endless!

Ask them in the comments section, and I’ll pass them along.

Published in: on January 16, 2011 at 6:13 pm  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doctorgrasshopper.wordpress.com/2011/01/16/announcement/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Here’s one that has always interested me.

    Have you ever had the occasion to vehemently disagree with your agent/editor about a change to the MS, and if so, how does that sort of thing get settled?

  2. I’d love to know how they *get rid* of ideas- how they isolate the concepts that won’t work in a story, or the story ideas that they just won’t have the patience to tell, or whatever. Is there some litmus test an idea has to pass? Do you just write it up and realize at some point “well that’s not working”?

    And: How far/tightly are their stories planned? Do characters ever show up midplot and steal the scene? Do plot developments ever get forgotten–or become much more important than anticipated?

    I’m so glad you’re getting to do these interviews- you’ll make them fantastic!

  3. Hm… let’s see… I’d love to hear whether these writers advocate wholesale slaughter in their novels or see it as a sign of weakness? This blog is helpful with keeping injuries, death and dismemberment plausible, but sometimes I think they’re unnecessary. What do other authors see as the difference between necessary injury/illness/death and a weak attempt to kick start a poorly-though-out plot?

  4. In regards to backstory – how much is too much? I have read about some agents and editors who wish to be plunged into a narrative with no setup, while others seem to think that a world building introduction is key.

    How do authors keep the pace and interest going when they need to showcase their world?

    How much backstory is deemed alright until it becomes more of a lecture than an enjoyment?

    How much research do they do on a subject they are sketchy on? (For instance, medical stuff. I’m an electrician, not a doctor, so the extent of my knowledge is my CPR and AED certification.)

    Is it hard to make contacts with certain industry professionals in order to fact check? The internet is great and all, but some lessons are far better when absorbed from another living human being, yanno?

    More to come if I think of them.

  5. ‘Erm… I was sorta keeping quiet, because y’all seem to know so much more about this business than I do, but whatthehey…

    When a story grabs me, the “world” has a tendency to spring into being fully formed. Languages, cultures, art, architecture, history, mythos, the color of the sky, the scent of the grass, the sound of the stars… you get the idea. It is a constant struggle to avoid getting bogged down in the details and just tell the story. How do they cope with that?

  6. Oh, and btw…

    GO YOU!!! This is awesome!!!

  7. 1) If you were walking down the street more or less minding your own business, having a coffee or maybe texting someone cool, what would you do if some creature that was absolutely not human asked you for directions?

    2) What would that creature look like?

    • I like these questions. In fact, I propose that we use it as a writing prompt and each write a drabble for it. 250 words!

  8. Okay, having succumbed to yet another attack of the dreaded Two-A-M-Plot-Bunny, I have another question.

    What do you DO when your characters insist on being cooperative only when you’re supposed to be SLEEPING????

    (Because seriously, the story I’m chained to right now, they won’t let me focus on anything else, they’re being just AWFUL about that. They’re refusing to speak when I have time, and keep me up all night at least once a week. They continually decide that they’re feeling cooperative now, just when I’m laying down and trying to sleep.

    Plot-*bunny*, hell. More like a plot-puma.)


Leave a Reply

