Terrifying.

Today I convinced a man to let someone cut his leg off.

It will happen tomorrow.

The trust people put in me terrifies me sometimes.

Published in: on December 25, 2010 at 8:35 pm  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doctorgrasshopper.wordpress.com/2010/12/25/terrifying/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hug! You are not a bad person.

    • I hope you’re right.

      Thanks for the vote of confidence.

  2. There aren’t many people I would take that advice from, but my consultant is probably the one on the top of the list.

    If it will make him better, don’t feel bad about it.

    • It will save his life. I’m confident in my advice.

      But man, I just feel WEIRD about it.

      His leg, dude! I told him to CUT OFF HIS LEG, and he’s going to do it!

      Gah.

  3. * backpat * This is why you have the funny letters after your name, so people know they can trust you.

    That you’re still impressed about it shows they’re right to trust you, funny letters or not.

  4. Clearly from your posts you care about your patients and will offer them your best advice based on your compassion and training. I am certain that you did your very best for this man and that his trust is well placed.

  5. I’m sure this must’ve been just as difficult for you as it was for the patient. It’s not easy to convince a patient to make such a drastic decision – but the fact that you *did* clearly proves that he trusts you as his doc 🙂

    *Hugs* Here’s to hoping the success of the surgery and well-being of the patient subdues the more terrifying aspect of it all.

    [And when you feel better, you might want to see this ^_^:
    http://www.smbc-comics.com/?db=comics&id=1347#comic%5D

  6. How is he today?


Leave a Reply

