Bad Blogger. No Cookie. (eh? see what I did there? eh? eh?)

We’re to the halfway point of my relatively-easy-month-before-I-dive-back-into-three-months-of-crazy, and I still haven’t added much to my backlog of Actual Interesting Informative Posts to carry us through December-through-February.

I’m a bad blogger.

However, I HAVE been writing on my novel! I’m at 31,000 words! And I’m going to continue to be a bad blogger today and write even more of the novel.

I just wanted to let you know. So you can make sad-puppy faces at me.

How’s your writing going?

Published in: on November 14, 2010 at 5:56 pm  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doctorgrasshopper.wordpress.com/2010/11/14/bad-blogger-no-cookie-eh-see-what-i-did-there-eh-eh/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Problems with staying power…recently went back and did a complete revision of my main character’s backstory, which puts him at a different place when the story begins, which means everything I’ve done thus far is more or less moot.

    How do you do it? Ugh.

    • That can be a really exciting time, though! The magic is in revision! (At least, that’s what I’m hoping. My book really, REALLY needs some magic revisions. I’m in the first draft, and that can be an ugly, ugly country.)

      How do I do it?

      Um….I usually don’t. Someday I’ll get back to working on the novel like a professional, but right now I’m in a solidly hobbyist pattern. It’s a little less frustrating, but also MUCH less efficient. As backstory, I’ve been working on this book since 2006. And I’m only 32,000 words in. And THAT can be its own flavor of frustrating.

      Hang in there! Setbacks are valuable! You get to look at your draft, and say “I’m TOTALLY a better writer than that!” and then you get to prove it!

  2. *sad puppy face*

    • Oh, Shweta! I’m so sorry I’m neglecting you! Can you ever forgive me?

  3. Write that novel, Dr. G! And now and then, when you’re tired of spinning something out of nothing, give us some medical info.In your copious spare time, no doubt!

    I’ve just finished the first, extremely rough draft of my novel. I don’t know the word count yet, since I haven’t finished pasting the separate sequences together. Writing in scenes did get me blasted out of the infinite revisions swamp, though.

    Thanks again for your advice on throat-cutting.

    • Thanks, Jane!

      You know what cracks me up? If someone walked up to me on the street and loudly said the last thing you just said to me, I would probably have to deal with a lot of legal repercussions. Hooray for fiction!

      And Happy First Draft To You! Way to go!

      Good luck with revisions!

  4. My novel is at around 20,000 words. I’m doing NaNoWriMo, so that’s giving me a much-needed push. I’d much rather be searching for posts from my favorite blogger (pointing at you). I’m hoping to finish November with 60,000 words and a complete story line. Best of luck to us all!

    Marian Allen

    • ::looks behind self:: Your favorite blogger is standing behind me?

      (::BLUSH::)

      Way to go with doing NaNo! It’s a really neat way to just push that story out so you can work with it! Best of luck!

  5. Ah, November words counts. I always forget the joy of getting half way through my goal before we reach half way through the month. I hit 26,000 + and still have writing time.

    Keep typing and ignore the puppy faces.

    • Awesome, Perry! I wish I could do NaNo at some point. I think I’d definitely get a lot more work done. Unfortunately, my skimpy word count is actually a product of a full four years of work. I blame medicine.

      😀

      Keep plugging!


Leave a Reply

