Hmm.

I was going to talk about nerves.

But….um…..I realized that I’d end up talking about rather complex concepts without providing any kind of framework to think about them.

I think I might need to back up.

I know, I’m such a tease.

But how can I talk about the propogation of action potentials when I haven’t even talked about the properties of cell membranes? Or ions?

I mean, I’m sure a lot of you know this stuff already. But I’m trying to go super-layman on the blog, because not everyone has studied this stuff.

So. Um. Bear with me? ::Hopeful grin?::

(PS: SuperLayman – Lamest. Superhero. Ever.)

Published in: on October 20, 2010 at 7:23 pm  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doctorgrasshopper.wordpress.com/2010/10/20/hmm-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m a little sad that I don’t get to read a post about nerves today. BUT! I love that this blog takes a super-layman approach, and I love how each post builds on the previous posts–like, the post about sympathetic vs. parasympathetic influences on the autonomic nervous system was highly informative, and then you used that information in some of the later articles, and it was great.

    So I look forward to wherever you decide to start! This blog is awesome; thanks for writing it, and keep up the good work!

    • So glad you liked it! And I’m glad I’m managing to do the build-up thing adequately. I’m pretty much picking topics at random, and it’s nice to know that I’m not leaving people completely in the lurch while I do that.

  2. going super-layman on cell membranes. hmmm. i would like to see you try (and then i’d be able to mail it to everyone who wants me to explain that issue to them!)

    BTW – i shared the homework assignment and someone called me šŸ™‚

    p.s
    the alert by mail thingy doesn’t work.

    • Hee hee, I’ll certainly try! And then you’d be more than welcome to send it around as you wish.

      Regarding the homework assignment: Rock on! I’ll bet you totally made their day.

      Regarding the alert-by-mail thing: Um, I’m so sorry, but I have no idea what to do about that. The only reason I have an internet presence is because WordPress is so easy to use. But I’m a complete internet troglodyte, so it’s hard for me to fix/troubleshoot things. However, I’ve started a Twitter feed and I’ll twit when I put up new posts….

      • WordPress is indeed comfortable for all the troglodytes out there. It’s OK, I’ll just have to start entering the actual blog instead of reading it through my google reader.

        I just realized that once you publish the cell membrane post I’ll have to translate it, so maybe I shouldn’t have encouraged you to do that…

  3. I just wanted to let you know that I have directed my Anatomy and Physiology I and II classes to your blog because we have all enjoyed reading it so much class! Looking forward to nerves! Thank you!

    • How cool! Wheee, I’m a teaching tool!

      šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

      You totally made my day. I’m glad you like this so much!

  4. Haha, now I’m thinking about what SuperLayman’s powers would be, and I’m going for the obvious – super skill at explaining complex concepts using simple language. I wish I had that skill myself!

    And I like your approach, because I don’t have much knowledge of these areas, but I’m still able to follow your posts. Maybe you really are SuperLayman? I honestly don’t think it’s a lame skill!

    • Hee hee.

      Glad I’m not leaving you completely behind. If I ever do, please let me know!

      Actually, part of the reason I started this blog was because I wanted to practice explaining complex specialized ideas in layman’s terms, since that constitutes a good chunk of my job description. šŸ˜€ Nice to know it’s working!


Leave a Reply

